Colorado State Tax Extension

co

If you can't file your Colorado tax return by April 18, you may file your Colorado return on or before October 17 without filing a written request for extension. However, to avoid late payment penalties, you must pay at least 90% of your tax liability by April 18 and the balance when you file by October 16.

If you can't file by April 18 but still owe additional tax, use the payment voucher below to mail in your payment by April 18. Complete the tax payment worksheet to see if you owe additional taxes. Do not send in the voucher without a payment.

Enter the tax due on Form 158-I and mail the voucher portion only with your payment to: Colorado Department of Revenue, Denver CO 80261-0008. If you have no tax due, do not send the payment voucher. You will automatically qualify for an extension.

An automatic six-month extension of time for filing the Colorado corporation income tax return is allowed for all taxpayers. However, an extension of time to file is not an extension of time to pay the tax. If at least 90% of the net tax liability is not paid by the original due date of the return, penalty and interest will be assessed. If 90% or more of the net tax liability is paid by the original due date of the return and the balance is paid when the return is filed by the last day of the extension period, only interest will be assessed.

An automatic six-month extension of time for filing the Colorado corporation income tax return is allowed for all taxpayers. However, an extension of time to file is not an extension of time to pay the tax. If at least 90% of the net tax liability is not paid by the original due date of the return, penalty and interest will be assessed. If 90% or more of the net tax liability is paid by the original due date of the return and the balance is paid when the return is filed by the last day of the extension period, only interest will be assessed.

Which Form to use?

Form DR 158-C is to be used to make whatever payment must be made by the original due date of the return to meet the 90% requirement. If after the original due date of the return it is found that the amount paid is insufficient to meet the 90% requirement, additional payment should be made as soon as possible to reduce further accumulation of penalty and interest. Make such payment on form 158-C.
A federal extension of time for filing will not be accepted for Colorado purposes.

Note : Do not submit form DR-158-C without a Payment.

Is there a Penalty/Interest?

If the 90%rule is NOT met by the original due date, then delinquent penalty and interest will be assessed when you file your return. If 90%or more of your tax liability is paid by the original due date, and the remaining balance is paid by the extension due date, no penalty will be assessed.

However, you will be billed interest, but only on the amount being paid by the extension due date. If after the original due date, you determine that you underpaid your extension payment you should pay the additional tax as soon as possible to avoid further accumulation of penalty and/or interest.

How to make Payment?

Taxpayers can now visit https://www.colorado.gov/revenueonline/ to pay online. Online payments reduce errors and provide instant payment confirmation. RevenueOnline also allows users to submit various forms and to monitor their tax account. DR 0158-C is not required if an online payment is made.Please be advised that a nominal processing fee may apply to online payments.
Pay by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)

EFT Debit and EFT Credit options are free services offered by the Department. EFT services require pre-registration before payments can be made.

Why should I use ExpressExtension?

ExpressExtension has an experienced and competent team to meet all your individual and business tax solutions. We provide a complete and easy solution to all your tax needs.

The Colorado Department of Revenue does not require that you file for an extension of time to file. Colorado grants an automatic extension until October 17 to file your tax return. However, Colorado does require that 90% of your tax liability be paid on or before April 18, 2016 to avoid penalties. Any remaining balance due would be subject to interest only.

Is there a Penalty and Interest?

  • Those who pay at least 90% of their tax amount due on or before April 18, 2016 will only be charged interest on the unpaid balance. Those who pay less than the required 90% will also be charged a penalty.
  • An annual interest rate of 3% (three percent) is charged when the interest is self-assessed.
  • An annual interest rate of 6% is charged when the interest is assessed by the CODOR.
  • The late payment penalty is 5% of the balance due, plus 0.5% for each additional month the payment is late up to a maximum of 12%.

How to make Payments?

Payment Voucher: Prepare a Payment Voucher for Automatic Colorado Extension for Individuals, Form DR 158-I

Money Order: Enclose a check or money order in the amount of the estimated tax due.
Mail to:
Colorado Department of Revenue
DENVER, CO 80261-0008

Pay by Credit Card: Credit card expiration date (MM/YYYY) ZIP Code for the address where your credit card bills are sent On the Web:
Make your payment at the Official Payments Corp. web site.

By Telephone: Use your touch-tone phone to call toll-free (800) 272-9829. At the end of your call you will be given a confirmation number. Write down and save this confirmation number for your records

What If I do not Owe?

Colorado accepts payment by credit card through Official Payments Corporation. Making your payment in this way automatically qualifies you for an extension of time to file your tax return until your extension deadline. You will not need to file any other forms at this time. You can do this either on the web or by telephone.

Official Payments Corporation will accept Discover/NOVUS, MasterCard, Visa or American Express card to pay your personal income taxes. There is a convenience fee for this service equal to 2.5% of the tax amount being charged. The minimum fee is $1.00.

To make your payment and receive an automatic extension of time to file, have the following information ready:

  • The amount you are paying in dollars and cents
  • Your social security number
  • Your spouse's social security number (if applicable)
  • The first four letters of your last name
  • The first four letters of your spouse's last name, if different from yours Tax year
    Your home telephone number (including area code)
  • Credit card number
If you are expecting a refund from Colorado there is nothing to be filed, an extension is automatically granted until October 17 for the filing of your tax return.