IRS Authorized E-file Provider for Tax Extension Forms

State Personal Income
Tax Extension

Minnesota Requires:

  • The state of Minnesota doesn’t require any extension Form as it automatically grants extensions
    up to 6 months.
Explore More

File Form 4868 and Extend your 1040 Deadline up to 6 Months.

  • File extension in few minutes
  • No explanation Required
  • Quick Processing
  • Instant IRS Approval

An Overview of Minnesota State Personal Income Tax Extension Forms

- Updated April 03, 2023 - 8.00 AM by Admin, ExpressExtension

Does Minnesota support tax extension for personal
tax returns?

Yes. The state of Minnesota supports the automatic extension of time to file personal income tax Form M1.

What Form does the state of Minnesota require to apply for
an extension?

There is no state-specific form to request an extension, as the state of Minnesota automatically grants the extension for up to 6 months for individuals to file an income tax return with
the state.

When is the due date to file personal tax Form M1 with Minnesota?

Minnesota personal tax return due date is extended to May 17.

The actual due date to file Minnesota State individual tax extension Form is April 15 for calendar year filers (15th day of 4th month after the tax year ends).

Although the state gives you an automatic 6-month extension to file your return, you must file by the deadline to avoid a late filing penalty.

How do I pay my balance due to the state
of Minnesota?

If you owe Minnesota state taxes, your balance must be paid by the regular due date, or penalties and interest will
be charged.

To make a payment with the state, use Payment Voucher (Form M1) to make
a payment.

To pay electronically, visit State payment options.

Where to mail payment Form 40V?

Mail the check with the payment voucher to the
following address:

Address Icon
Minnesota Income Tax
P.O. Box 327467,
Montgomery, AL 36132-7320.