IRS Authorized E-file Provider for Tax Extension Forms

State Personal Income
Tax Extension

California Requires:

  • The state of California doesn’t require any extension Form as it automatically grants extensions
    up to 6 months.
Explore More

File Form 4868 and Extend your 1040 Deadline up to 6 Months.

  • File extension in few minutes
  • No explanation Required
  • Quick Processing
  • Instant IRS Approval

An Overview of California State Personal Income Tax Extension Forms

- Updated April 03, 2023 - 8.00 AM by Admin, ExpressExtension

Does California support tax extension for personal
tax returns?

Yes, The state of California supports the automatic extension of time to file personal income tax Form 540.

What Form does the state of California require to apply for
an extension?

There is no state-specific form to request an extension, as the state of California automatically grants the extension for up to 6 months for individuals to file an income tax return with
the state.

When is the due date to file personal tax Form 540 with California?

California personal tax filings are due by May 17, or by the 15th day of the 4th month following the end of the taxable year for fiscal year filers.

How do I pay my balance due to the state of California?

If you owe California state taxes, you must pay the tax due by the regular due date, or penalties and interest will be charged.

You may pay your tax due with check, money order, credit card, E-Check, or ACH Debit or mailing the payment voucher

  • Credit Card: You may choose to use your Discover/Novus, Visa, Master Card, or American Express card.
  • ACH Debit: You may pay by ACH Debit by going to You will need to have your bank routing number and checking account number to use
    this service.

To make a payment with the state, use Payment Voucher (Form FTB 3519) to make
a payment.

Where to mail payment Form FTB 3519?

Mail the check with the payment voucher to the
following address:

Address Icon
PO BOX 942867,
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0008