Utah State Tax Extension

ut

You automatically get an extension of up to six months to file your return. Utah does not have an extension form. However, penalties will be assessed if you have not met the prepayment requirements by the original due date.

Corporations are automatically allowed an extension of up to six months to file a return without filing an extension form. This is an extension of time to file the return - NOT an extension of time to pay the taxes. Use payment coupon TC-559 to make payments.

I need an extension for my corporation and it is past the normal due date. What can I do?

Corporations are automatically allowed an extension of up to six months to file a return without filing an extension form. This is an extension of time to file the return - NOT an extension of time to pay the taxes. To avoid penalty and interest, the prepayment requirements must be met on or before the original return due date and all returns must be filed within the six-month extension period.

Corporate/Partnership Payment Coupon TC-559

Use payment coupon TC-559 to make the following corporate/partnership tax payments:
1) Estimated tax payments
2) Extension payments
3) Return payments
Mark the circle on the coupon that shows the type of payment you are making.Corporation Estimated Tax Requirements

Every corporation with a tax liability of $3,000 or more in the current or previous tax year must make quarterly estimated tax payments. A parent company filing a combined report must make the payment when the total tax is $3,000 or more for all affiliated companies, including those that pay only the minimum tax.

A corporation does not have to make estimated tax payments the first year it is required to file a Utah return if it makes a payment on or before the due date, without extension, equal to or greater than the minimum tax.Estimated tax payments are due in four equal payments on the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, 9th and 12th months of the entity's taxable year. You may make quarterly payments equal to 90% of the current year tax or 100% of the previous year tax. A corporation that had a tax liability of $100 (the minimum tax) for the previous year may prepay the minimum tax amount of $100 on the 15th day of the 12th month instead of making four $25 payments.

The Tax Commission will charge an underpayment penalty to entities that fail to make or underpay the required estimated tax. Extension Payment Requirements A corporation/partnership will have an automatic filing extension if it makes the necessary extension payment by the return due date. The estimated tax payments must equal at least the lesser of:
1) 90 percent of the current year tax liability (or the $100 corporation minimum tax, if greater), or
2) 100 percent of the previous-year tax liability.
The remaining tax, plus any penalty and interest, is due when the return is filed.
Note: A pass-through entity (partnership or S corporation) must pay 100% of any pass-through withholding by the original due date to avoid penalties and interest. Penalties and Interest If your tax payments do not equal the lesser of 90% of the current year tax liability ($100 minimum tax for corporations) or 100% of the previous year tax liability, we will assess a penalty of 2% of the unpaid tax for each month of the extension period. We will assess a late filing penalty if you file the return after the extension due date.We will assess interest at the legal rate from the original due date until paid in full.

Utah Interest and Penalties, online at tax.utah.gov/forms.

Where to File?

Send your payment coupon and payment to :
Corporate/Partnership Tax Payment
Utah State Tax Commission
210 N 1950 W
Salt Lake City, UT 84134-0180

Electronic Payment

You may pay your estimated tax payments, extension payments and return payments online at taxexpress.utah.gov.

Why should I use Express Extension?

ExpressExtensionhas an experienced and competent team to meet all your individual and business tax solutions. We provide a complete and easy solution to all your tax needs.
You automatically get an extension of up to six months to file your return. Utah does not have an extension form. However, penalties will be assessed if you have not met the prepayment requirements by the original due date.

All extension returns must be filed by October 17, 2016.

What is the Prepayment Requirements for Filing Extension?

You may prepay through withholding (W-2, TC-675R, 1099-R, etc.), payments applied from previous year refunds, tax credits and credit carryovers, or payments made by the tax due date using form TC-546, Individual Income Tax Prepayment Coupon, or online at taxexpress.utah.gov . Interest is assessed on unpaid tax from the original fi ling due date until the tax is paid in full. Penalties may also apply.

Tax Commission Mailing Addresses

Use the following address for mailing your Utah tax return:

Refund Returns

Utah State Tax Commission
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134-0260

All other Returns (including PAYMENTS)
Utah State Tax Commission
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134-0266

Why should I use ExpressExtension?

ExpressExtension has an experienced and competent team to meet all your individual and business tax solutions. We provide a complete and easy solution to all your tax needs.